The district of Yukon was constituted and declared to be a separate territory under the name of the Yukon Territory by Chap. 6, Acts of the Parliament of Canada, 1898. The first commissioner appointed under the Act was William Ogilvie, appointed by Order in Council, dated 4th July, 1898.

The system of government established in Canada under the Union Act of 1867 is a Federal Union (the first of the kind in the British Empire) having (a) a general or central government controlling matters essential to the general development, the permanency and the unity of the whole Dominion, and (b) a number of local or provincial governments having the control and management of certain matters naturally and conveniently falling within their defined jurisdiction, while each government is administered in accordance with the British system of parliamentary institutions.

The chief exocutive government and authority is vested in the Queen, in whom is also vested the chief command of the militia and of all naval and military forces in Canada. Her Majesty is represented by a Governor General, appointed by the Queen in Council but paid by Canada.

The Parliament of Canada consists of first, the Queen; 2nd, an Upper House, called the Senate; and 3rd, a Lower House, called the House of Commons.

The Governor General governs under the advice of a Council of Ministers, known as the Queen's Privy Council for Canada, with is responsible to the Parliament.

The Senate, as at present constituted, consists of 81 members, 24 each from Ontario and Quebec, ten each from Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, four each from Prince Edward Island and Manitoba, three from British Columbia and two from the North-west Territories.

The House of Commons, which is elected by the people for a term of five years, consists of 213 members.

This number is fixed under the provisions of the Act of Confederation and the representation is arranged after each decennial census, by Act of Parliament, the basis being that the province of Quebec is always to have 65 representatives, and each of the other provinces such a number as will give the same proportion of representatives to its population as the number 65 bears to the population of Quebec as ascertained by the census. British Columbia, by the terms of the agreement made between the Dominion and province prior to the union, is never to have less than six members.

The number of representatives and the population to each member are as under :---

	Number of	Population to
Provinces.	Repre-	each
	sentatives.	Member.
Ontario	92	22,982
Quebec	6 5	22,900
Nova Scotia.	20	22,520
New Brunswick	14	22,947
Prince Edward Island	5	21,815
Manitoba	7	21,786
British Columbia	6	16,269
North-west Territories	4	16,700
	213	22,688